Industrial relations

Salários mínimos em 2020: Avaliação anual

Report
Updated
15 July 2020
Published
4 June 2020
pdf
Formats
  • Download full reportPDF
  • Order a print copyOrder
Executive summary

PDF

Principais conclusões

  • Em 2019, muitos países debateram um novo aumento substancial dos salários mínimos para além de 2020, em parte em relação a um objetivo relativo, em parte em termos absolutos.
Read more
  • Em 2019, muitos países debateram um novo aumento substancial dos salários mínimos para além de 2020, em parte em relação a um objetivo relativo, em parte em termos absolutos.
  • Os salários mínimos nacionais tornaram-se mais equitativos em comparação com os salários de outros trabalhadores desde o início do milénio (quando se comparam os salários mínimos nacionais com a mediana dos salários de todos os trabalhadores).
  • Apesar desta tendência ascendente, os salários mínimos na maioria dos países continuam a ser inferiores a 60 % ou até 50 % da mediana dos salários. Isto é particularmente verdade nos Estados-Membros da Europa Central e Oriental, que começaram com níveis relativos baixíssimos no início do milénio e continuam a ter objetivos que rondam ou são inferiores a 50 % nos regulamentos relativos ao salário mínimo.
  • De um modo geral, 7 em cada 10 trabalhadores com salários mínimos apontam, pelo menos, alguma dificuldade em fazer face às despesas, em comparação com menos de 5 dos 10 outros trabalhadores; no entanto, estes números variam consideravelmente de país para país. Por exemplo, menos de 10 % dos trabalhadores com o salário mínimo referem dificuldades ou muitas dificuldades na Dinamarca, na Finlândia, na Alemanha e na Suécia, em comparação com 50 % a 60 % na Bulgária, na Croácia e em Chipre e 80 % na Grécia.
  • Os governos europeus estão a reagir com medidas de estabilização dos rendimentos para as pessoas afetadas pela crise da COVID-19. Os salários mínimos podem desempenhar um papel na combinação de políticas, no sentido de estabilizar os rendimentos e, por conseguinte, de contrariar uma espiral descendente de recessão ou depressão.
Read less

Resumo

O presente relatório, no âmbito de uma série anual sobre o salário mínimo, resume os principais desenvolvimentos em 2019 e no início de 2020 em torno da iniciativa da UE em matéria de salários justos, inserindo neste contexto os debates nacionais sobre a fixação dos valores para 2020 e depois desRead more

O presente relatório, no âmbito de uma série anual sobre o salário mínimo, resume os principais desenvolvimentos em 2019 e no início de 2020 em torno da iniciativa da UE em matéria de salários justos, inserindo neste contexto os debates nacionais sobre a fixação dos valores para 2020 e depois desta data. O relatório apresenta a forma como foram fixados os salários mínimos e o papel dos parceiros sociais. Aborda a evolução dos salários mínimos nacionais e apresenta dados sobre os salários mínimos em convenções coletivas relativas a dez empregos de baixa remuneração para países sem o salário mínimo nacional. O relatório inclui também uma secção sobre a dimensão regional dos salários mínimos e apresenta a investigação mais recente sobre os efeitos das alterações dos salários mínimos nos salários em geral, no emprego, na pobreza no trabalho, nos preços e nos lucros.

Read less

Formats

  • Download full reportPDF
  • Order a print copyOrder
  • Full report

    Last updated date: 
    23 Jun 2020
    Number of Pages: 
    86
    Reference No: 
    EF20005
    ISBN: 
    978-92-897-2068-7
    Catalogue: 
    TJ-AS-20-001-EN-N
    DOI: 
    10.2806/999852
    Catalogue info

    Salários mínimos em 2020: Avaliação anual

    This report, as part of an annual series on minimum wages, summarises the key developments during 2019 and early 2020 around the EU initiative on fair wages and puts the national debates on setting the rates for 2020 and beyond in this context. The report features how minimum wages were set and the role of social partners. It discusses developments in statutory minimum wages and presents data on minimum wage rates in collective agreements related to 10 low-paid jobs for countries without statutory minimum wages.

    Available formats

    • Download full reportPDF
    • Order a print copyOrder
    Cite this publication as: 

    Eurofound (2020), Minimum wages in 2020: Annual review, Minimum wages in the EU series, Publications Office of the European Union, Luxembourg.

  • Executive summary

    Number of pages: 
    6
    Reference No: 
    EF20005EN1
    Catalogue info

    Minimum wages in 2020: Annual review

    Authors: 
    Eurofound

    During the year 2019 many countries were debating a further substantial increase to minimum wages beyond 2020, partially in relation to a relative target, partially in absolute terms. Some governments — such as Poland, Slovakia and Spain — have announced or are considering plans to elevate the statutory minimum wages to 60% of median or average wages. The United Kingdom reached this aim and intends to move beyond. Statutory minimum wages have become fairer as compared to other workers’ wages since the beginning of the millennium (when comparing statutory minimum wages to the median wages of all workers). In most countries, the level of the minimum wage as a proportion of the median wage (the ‘Kaitz index’) has grown between 2000 and 2018.

    Available in 1 languages for download

    PDF
  • Working papers

    Related working papers

  • Data

    Data

    Find data on statutory minimum wages in the EU.

    List of tables

    • Table 1: Social partners’ first reactions to the announced initiative on fair wages
    • Table 2: Overview of main arguments and proposals concerning an EU minimum wage initiative from social partners
    • Table 3: Gross minimum wages, selected EU Member States and the UK, 2019 and 2020
    • Table 4: Sub-minimum rates for selected EU Member States and the UK as at 1 January 2020
    • Table 5: Further statutory minimum wage rates for private sector workers in selected EU Member States
    • Table 6: Number of collective agreements covering low-paying job categories for countries without statutory minimum wages
    • Table 7: Minimum wages in collective agreements, applicable in 2019 for selected low-paid jobs
    • Table 8: Collective agreement coverage in Finland
    • Table 9: Overview of debates during 2019 on aspects of the minimum wage setting processes
    • Table 10: Demands for and agreements on targets for future minimum wages to address adequacy in selected EU Member States and the UK
    • Table 11: Regional statutory minimum wage rates
    • Table 12: Latest minimum wage research in EU Member States and the UK
    • Table 13: Overview of recent empirical research in the EU, Norway and the UK on employment impacts of minimum wage increases, 2019
    • Table 14: Policies influencing in-work poverty
    • Table A1: Network of Eurofound Correspondents – Members participating in the research

    List of figures

    • Figure 1: Conceptualising adequate minimum wages
    • Figure 2: Estimated share of employees earning 90% to 110% of the minimum wage, EU Member States, 2017
    • Figure 3: Proportions of female and male employees, EU level, 2017
    • Figure 4: Proportion of minimum wage workers per sector, EU level, 2017
    • Figure 5: Proportion of minimum wage workers per occupation (top 10), EU level, 2017
    • Figure 6: Hourly minimum wages, selected EU Member States, 2020
    • Figure 7: Minimum wage developments in real terms, 15 euro area countries, 2015 price levels
    • Figure 8: Minimum wage developments in real terms, non-euro area, 2015 price levels
    • Figure 9: Impact of purchasing power on the minimum wage value for selected EU Member States and the UK, as at 1 January 2020
    • Figure 10: Relative distance between purchasing power of lowest and median minimum wage EU Member States and the UK and highest minimum wage EU Member States and the UK, 2010–2020
    • Figure 11: Process for determining minimum wage rates for 2020
    • Figure 12: Number of minimum wage rate updates, EU Member States with statutory minimum wages and the UK, since 2010
    • Figure 13: Longer-term trend of development of statutory minimum wages relative to median wages of full-time employed workers, selected countries within the EU and the UK, 2000–2018
    • Figure 14: Proportion of minimum wage workers who find it difficult to make ends meet, EU average
    • Figure 15: Proportion of minimum wage workers who find it difficult to make ends meet
    • Figure 16: Making ends meet and minimum wages in relative and absolute terms
    • Figure 17: Monthly minimum wage as a proportion of the mean value of average monthly earnings by NUTS1 region, reference year 2016
    • Figure 18: Regional variation of relative monthly minimum wages, by NUTS1 region, 2016
    • Figure 19: Examples of countries with higher interregional differences in the proportion of minimum wage workers

     

A investigação realizada antes da saída do Reino Unido da União Europeia, em 31 de janeiro de 2020, e posteriormente publicada, pode incluir dados relativos aos 28 Estados-Membros da UE. Após esta data, a investigação apenas tem em conta os 27 Estados-Membros da UE (UE28 menos o Reino Unido), salvo especificação em contrário.

O presente relatório apresenta os resultados da investigação realizada antes do surto da COVID-19 na Europa em fevereiro de 2020, pelo que este não é tido em conta nos resultados.

Part of the series

  • Minimum wages in the EU

    This series reports on developments in minimum wage rates across the EU, including how they are set and how they have developed over time in nominal and real terms. The series explores where there are statutory minimum wages or collectively agreed minimum wages in the Member States, as well as minimum wage coverage rates by gender.  

Useful? Interesting? Tell us what you think. Hide comments

Add new comment