Évolution du marché du travail

13 July 2018

Le paysage de l’emploi est constamment remodelé par les changements structurels, principalement liés à la technologie et à la mondialisation. Mais d’autres facteurs tels que l’évolution démographique et les nouveaux modèles d’entreprise ont également des incidences très significatives sur la situation du marché de l’emploi et divers autres aspects de la vie active des citoyens européens.

Depuis l’adoption de la stratégie européenne pour l’emploi, en 1997, les États membres de l’UE ont entrepris de définir un ensemble d’objectifs et de cibles communs pour la politique de l’emploi. Le principal objectif de cette stratégie est la création d’emplois plus nombreux et de meilleure qualité dans l’ensemble de l’UE. Elle fait désormais partie de la stratégie Europe 2020 en faveur de la croissance, et est mise en œuvre dans le cadre du Semestre européen, un processus annuel qui encourage une coordination politique étroite entre les États membres et les institutions de l’UE.

Subscribe now and receive updates on Eurofound's work in the area of Évolution du marché du travail

Le travail d’Eurofound

Eurofound fournit des informations sur divers aspects de l’adaptation du marché de l’emploi aux changements structurels, et sur la manière dont cette adaptation peut favoriser de manière optimale l’amélioration des conditions de vie et de travail, à la fois au niveau des différents États membres de l’UE et à l’échelle européenne. L’évolution du marché du travail, la restructuration organisationnelle et la création d’emplois sont essentielles aux activités menées dans ce domaine, de même que la recherche sur les nouvelles formes d’emplois. Une attention particulière est dédiée accordée à diverses catégories, telles que les jeunes et les femmes.

Principales contributions

Les travaux récents dans ce domaine se sont concentrés sur les disparités de genre en matière d’emploi et l’augmentation de la participation des femmes au marché du travail. Eurofound a également étudié les nouvelles formes d’emploi qui diffèrent de l’emploi traditionnel.

Une analyse des effets sur l’emploi de la réduction des coûts de main-d’œuvre non salariaux pour les employeurs examine les réformes politiques adoptées depuis 2008 dans l’ensemble des États membres de l’UE en vue de stimuler la demande de main-d’œuvre. 

L’Observatoire européen des restructurations (ERM) surveille depuis 2002 les incidences sur l’emploi des restructurations à grande échelle pratiquées en Europe.

L’Observatoire européen des emplois (EJM) a lancé depuis plusieurs années l’approche fondée sur les emplois pour mieux comprendre les évolutions de la structure de l’emploi en Europe.

Ressources de l’ERM

Ongoing work

Highlights (12)

Tout (1628)

Publications (604)

Articles (934)

News (56)

Events (34)

Labour market change

20 September 2017

The employment landscape is being reshaped continually by structural change, driven largely by technology and globalisation. But other factors such as demographic change and new business models also have very significant implications for labour market outcomes and various other aspects of the working lives of European citizens.

Since the adoption of the European employment strategy in 1997, Member States undertook to establish a set of common objectives and targets for employment policy. Its main aim is the creation of more and better jobs throughout the EU. It now constitutes part of the Europe 2020 growth strategy, and it is implemented through the European Semester, an annual process promoting close policy coordination among EU Member States and EU institutions.

Subscribe now and receive updates on Eurofound's work in the area of Labour market change

Eurofound's work

Eurofound provides information on various aspects of the labour market adjustment to structural change and how at both Member State and European levels this adjustment can best promote better living and working conditions. Changing labour markets, organisational restructuring and job creation are central to the activities in this area, as is research on  new forms of employment. Particular attention is devoted to the implications for various groups such as youth and women.

Key contributions

Recent work in this area has focused on the gender employment gap and increasing the labour market participation of women. Eurofound has also examined new forms of employment that differ from traditional employment.

A review of the employment effects of reducing non-wage labour costs for employers looks at the policy reforms adopted since 2008 across the EU Member States to stimulate labour demand. 

The European Restructuring Monitor (ERM) has been monitoring the employment impact of large-scale restructuring events in Europe since 2002.

The European Jobs Monitor (EJM) has for several years pioneered the jobs-based approach to better understand the changing employment structure in Europe.

ERM resources

Ongoing work

  • Restructuring events database: Updated daily
  • Restructuring-related legislation database: 2017 update
  • ERM report 2018  on the effects of restructuring on working conditions
  • Study on labour market segmentation
  • Study on the living wage in Europe
  • Study on support measures in the case of redundancies, with a focus on older workers
  • Study on the job creation effects of public innovation-support measures
  • Study on how workplace practices and company characteristics are associated with employment in companies

Highlights (11)

All (1318)

Publications (446)

Articles (797)

News (47)

Events (28)