Suivi des changements structurels et gestion des restructurations

16 May 2019

Les changements structurels de l’économie ont de nombreuses implications pour les marchés du travail et l’emploi en Europe. Bien que le dynamisme soit nécessaire à la prospérité économique, la perte d’un emploi peut être un événement grave dans une vie, et les processus de restructuration devraient s’efforcer de minimiser les conséquences néfastes pour les salariés.

Les décideurs ont besoin de connaître l’évolution des marchés de l’emploi pour veiller à ce que la main-d’œuvre soit dotée des compétences requises par les employeurs aujourd’hui et demain. Il est également nécessaire que des politiques s’intéressent à la diminution de la demande de main-d’œuvre et au déplacement des travailleurs des industries en déclin.

La Commission européenne s’est engagée, avec la stratégie Europe 2020, à s’efforcer d’«encourager la restructuration des secteurs en difficulté vers des activités axées sur l’avenir, y compris par le rapide redéploiement des compétences pour satisfaire les besoins des secteurs et des marchés émergents à forte croissance». L’instrument le plus spécifique de la politique européenne de l’emploi accompagnant la restructuration est le Fonds européen d’ajustement à la mondialisation. Il apporte un soutien aux personnes qui perdent leur emploi à la suite de changements structurels majeurs liés à la mondialisation.

Le travail d’Eurofound

Eurofound surveille et analyse les incidences des changements structurels sur les marchés de l’emploi européens. Elle cherche à fournir des réponses, en premier lieu, à une question fondamentale: où l’emploi progresse-t-il et où décline-t-il? Elle aborde cette question sous de nombreux angles, tels que le secteur, la profession et le contrat de travail. Elle répond également à cette question du point de vue de la qualité de l’emploi, en utilisant la rémunération pour mesurer la qualité de l’emploi: à titre d’exemple, les nouveaux emplois créés offrent-ils une rémunération élevée, intermédiaire ou faible? Un élément essentiel de ce travail consiste à recueillir des informations concernant les incidences de la restructuration sur l’emploi, ce qui permet de définir et d’examiner les grandes tendances de l’activité de restructuration en Europe.

Eurofound a élaboré deux instruments qui fournissent aux parties prenantes des renseignements, des idées et des analyses essentiels pour prévoir l’évolution du marché de l’emploi et formuler une politique permettant d’atteindre les objectifs européens en matière d’emploi.

L’Observatoire européen des restructurations (ERM), source de connaissances unique sur les restructurations, offre, grâce à ses bases de données, un ensemble d’informations sur les restructurations, les instruments nationaux d’aide publique et la législation, ainsi que des études de cas sur les processus de restructuration.

L’Observatoire européen des emplois (EJM) surveille et analyse les changements dans la structure de l’emploi en Europe, en termes de profession et de secteur principalement, mais étudie également des aspects tels que le genre, le type de contrat de travail, l’éducation et la nationalité. Il offre une évaluation qualitative de ces changements en utilisant diverses mesures de la qualité de l’emploi (rémunération, niveau de compétences et niveau d’études), démontrant si l’emploi connaît:

  • une amélioration: développement des emplois de qualité élevée,
  • une dévalorisation: développement des emplois de faible qualité,
  • une polarisation: développement des emplois aux deux extrémités des niveaux de qualité et déclin des emplois de qualité intermédiaire.
  • Principales contributions

L’ERM a récemment examiné l’impact sur l’emploi de la délocalisation et de la relocalisation en Europe. D’autres études ont porté sur la création d’emplois dans les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) et sur les efforts accomplis par les autorités publiques pour encourager l’emploi dans cette catégorie d’entreprises.

En ce qui concerne l’EJM, l’analyse des changements de la structure de l’emploi a non seulement décrit les tendances récentes, mais a également observé l’évolution dans une perspective mondiale et à long terme.

Ressources concernant la restructuration

Ongoing work

  • Regional shifts in employment structure (EJM report 2019)
  • Flagship report for labour market change, covering labour markets, restructuring and innovation
  • Coverage of cases of transnational restructuring, relevant to current debates 

 

Highlights (11)

Tout (43)

Publications (22)

Articles (15)

News (5)

Events (1)

Monitoring structural change and managing restructuring

07 December 2018

Structural change in the economy has many implications for Europe’s labour markets and employment. While dynamism is necessary for a vibrant economy, job loss can be a serious life event, and restructuring processes should seek to minimise the negative consequences for employees.

Policymakers need insights into the evolution of labour markets to ensure that the workforce is equipped with the skills that employers need now and into the future. Policy is also needed to address falling labour demand and displacement of workers from industries in decline.

The European Commission in setting out the Europe 2020 strategy committed to work to ‘promote the restructuring of sectors in difficulty towards future-oriented activities, including through quick redeployment of skills to emerging high-growth sectors and markets’. The most specific European employment policy instrument for restructuring is the European Globalisation Adjustment Fund, which provides support to people losing their jobs as a result of major structural changes due to globalisation.

Eurofound's work

Eurofound monitors and analyses the impact of structural change in European labour markets. It seeks to provide answers, in the first instance, to the basic question of where employment is growing and declining. It approaches this question from many angles – such as sector, occupation and employment contract. It also answers the question from the perspective of job quality – taking pay as a proxy for job quality, for example, is new employment being created in the top-paying, middle-paying or lowest-paying jobs? A key strand of this work focuses on gathering information on the impact of restructuring on employment, enabling broad trends in restructuring activity across Europe to be captured and examined.

Eurofound has developed two instruments to provide stakeholders with essential information, insights and analysis to plan for labour market change and to design policy to achieve Europe’s employment goals.

The European Restructuring Monitor (ERM) is a unique knowledge resource on restructuring and offers a range of information through its databases on restructuring events, national public support instruments and legislation, as well as case studies on restructuring processes.

The European Jobs Monitor (EJM) tracks and analyses shifts in the employment structure of Europe in terms of occupation and sector, principally, but also looks at dimensions such as gender, type of employment contract, education and nationality. It gives a qualitative assessment of these shifts using various measures of job quality – wages, skill levels and educational attainment – demonstrating whether employment is

  • upgrading: expanding in high-quality jobs
  • downgrading: expanding in low-quality jobs
  • polarising: expanding at both ends of the quality spectrum, with a hollowing out of mid-quality jobs.

Key contributions

The ERM has recently looked at the employment impact of offshoring and reshoring in Europe. Other work has examined job creation in small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) and the efforts public authorities have made to promote employment in this company class size.

For the EJM, analysis of shifts in the employment structure, as well as describing recent trends, has also examined developments from long-term and global perspectives.

Restructuring resources

  • The ERM restructuring events database gathers information on restructurings carried out by companies, aggregating and analysing it to describe recent and long-term trends. Updated daily, it currently contains over 21,000 factsheets on restructuring events in Europe dating back to 2002. 
  • The restructuring support instruments database records information that governments and social partners across the Member States provide to help companies and workers in managing restructuring.
  • The restructuring-related legislation database gives an overview of national regulations that are explicitly or implicitly linked to managing restructuring.
  • The restructuring case studies database documents examples of how private sector and public sector employers have planned and implemented restructuring processes.

Ongoing work

Current work covers the following topic:

  • how demographic change is influencing the occupational structure (EJM report 2019).

The restructuring events database continues to be updated daily.

Highlights (10)

All (40)

Publications (20)

Articles (15)

News (5)