Nouvelles formes d’emploi

21 Novembre 2020

Les évolutions sociales, économiques et technologiques ont donné naissance à de nouvelles formes d’emploi partout en Europe. Nombre d’entre elles sont très différentes des emplois «traditionnels». Elles transforment la relation directe traditionnelle entre l’employeur et l’employé.Read more

Les évolutions sociales, économiques et technologiques ont donné naissance à de nouvelles formes d’emploi partout en Europe. Nombre d’entre elles sont très différentes des emplois «traditionnels». Elles transforment la relation directe traditionnelle entre l’employeur et l’employé. Elles se caractérisent également par des rythmes et des lieux de travail non conventionnels.

Read less

Mises à jour récentes

Beyondwork2020 – European conference on labour research

On 21 and 22 October 2020, representatives of EU policy makers, research, business and the social partners will meet at...

Back to the future: Policy pointers from platform work scenarios

Platform work– the matching of supply and demand for paid labour through an online platform – is still small in scale...

Regulations to address work–life balance in digital flexible working arrangements

Developments in information and communication technology (ICT) have been among the key drivers of change in working...

EU context

Top

Les responsables politiques de l’UE souhaitent savoir dans quelle mesure ces nouvelles formes d’emploi peuvent rendre le marché du travail plus flexible et plus inclRead more

Les responsables politiques de l’UE souhaitent savoir dans quelle mesure ces nouvelles formes d’emploi peuvent rendre le marché du travail plus flexible et plus inclusif. Les discussions portent également sur la manière de légaliser les pratiques de travail non déclaré et de garantir une protection sociale adéquate et des conditions de travail acceptables. La question de savoir comment éviter que des emplois conventionnels ne se trouvent remplacés par des formes d’emploi moins favorables aux travailleurs revêt une importance capitale.

La Commission européenne a soulevé la question des conditions de travail dans sa note d’information pour le forum social tripartite de 2011 sur la mise en œuvre de son initiative phare «Une stratégie pour des compétences nouvelles et des emplois» inscrite dans le cadre de la stratégie «Europe 2020». Dans sa communication de 2012 intitulée «Vers une reprise génératrice d’emplois», la Commission a souligné sa volonté d’édifier des marchés du travail dynamiques. Dans cet esprit, Eurofound a lancé un projet visant à recenser les nouvelles formes d’emploi dans l’UE et en Norvège.

Études d’Eurofound

Pour combler les lacunes existantes dans les connaissances, Eurofound a commencé à étudier en 2013 les caractéristiques des nouvelles formes d’emploi dans les États membres de l’UE. Les études ont également porté sur les conséquences sur les conditions de travail et le marché du travail.

Principales contributions

Eurofound a dressé un état des lieux à l’échelle européenne afin de recenser les tendances émergentes. Cet exercice a permis de répertorier neuf grands types de formes d’emploi nouvelles ou devenues de plus en plus importantes dans les États membres de l’UE depuis 2000. Plusieurs études de cas, réalisées dans le cadre de cet exercice, illustrent le mode de fonctionnement de ces nouvelles formes d’emploi dans les États membres ainsi que leurs répercussions sur les conditions de travail et le marché du travail.

Eurofound continue d’examiner plus en détail certaines des nouvelles tendances recensées. Une étude réalisée en 2016 s’est penchée en particulier sur le potentiel mutuellement bénéfique du partage stratégique de travailleurs, tant pour les entreprises que pour les travailleurs.

Une étude menée conjointement par Eurofound et l’Organisation internationale du travail (OIT) analyse les effets que le télétravail et le travail mobile fondé sur les TIC induisent sur le monde du travail. 

Ressources

Read less

Key outputs over the years

Show more (8)
  • Publications (47)
  • Données
  • Ongoing work (4)

Données

A selection of related data on this topic are linked below. 

Ongoing work

Research continues in this topic on a variety of themes, which are outlined below with links to forthcoming titles. 

 

Other ongoing work

  • Exploring potential scenarios related to platform work

New forms of employment

13 September 2017

Social, economic and technological changes in Europe have given rise to new forms of employment across Europe. Many of these are very different from traditional ‘work’. They transform the traditional one-to-one relationship between employer and employee. They are also characterised by unconventional work patterns and places of work.

Policymakers in the EU are interested in how these new forms of employment can help to build a more flexible and inclusive labour market. Discussion also revolves around how to legalise undeclared employment practices and how to ensure adequate social protection and acceptable working conditions. Of key importance in the debate is how to avoid a situation where these new employment forms are less favourable to workers than more established types of employment.

The European Commission raised the issue of working conditions in its background note for the Tripartite Social Forum in 2011 on the implementation of the Europe 2020 flagship initiative ‘Agenda for new skills and jobs’. In its 2012 Communication ‘Towards a job-rich recovery’, the Commission highlighted its priority to restore the dynamics of labour markets. In line with this priority, Eurofound launched a project to map new forms of employment across the European Union and Norway.

Eurofound’s work

To fill existing knowledge gaps, in 2013 Eurofound began to explore the characteristics of emerging forms of employment in EU Member States. The research also looked at the implications for working conditions and the labour market.

Key contributions

Eurofound conducted a Europe-wide mapping exercise to identify emerging trends. This exercise led to the categorisation of nine broad types of new employment forms that are new or have become increasingly important in European Member States since 2000. A range of case studies, carried out as part of the study, show how these new employment forms operate in Member States and their effects on working conditions and the labour market.

Eurofound continues to examine in more detail some of the new trends identified. Research in 2016 looked in particular at the win–win potential of strategic employee sharing for both employers and employees.

A joint study by Eurofound and the International Labour Organization (ILO) analyses the effects of telework and ICT-mobile work (T/ICTM) on the world of work. 

Resources

Ongoing work

  • Exploring the employment and working conditions related to specific types of crowd employment
  • Casual work: Characteristics and implications
  • Further analysis of ICT-based mobile work: Expanding on the previous joint Eurofound/ILO report

Highlights (2)

All (10)

Publications (5)

Articles (2)

News (2)

Events (1)