Working conditions

Le travail dépend du lieu de naissance

Policy brief
Publié
27 Novembre 2019
Formats and languages

Résumé

Les statistiques liées à l’emploi démontrent constamment que le fait d’être d’origine étrangère influence les perspectives d’emploi des personnes. Les informations relatives aux types d’emplois que les travailleurs d’origine étrangère occupent et à leurs conditions de travail sont limitées. La présente note d’orientation permet de combler ce manque d’informations. Elle compare l’expérience des travailleurs d’origine étrangère à celle des travailleurs nationaux; elle établit également une distinction entre les expériences des migrants de première et de deuxième génération et entre celles des femmes et des hommes.

Il ressort des conclusions que le fait d’être d’origine étrangère peut avoir un effet négatif à la fois sur l’intégration sur le marché du travail et sur les conditions de travail. Toutefois, des différences significatives apparaissent entre les différents groupes de migrants. Les résultats mettent en lumière la nécessité évidente d’une approche nuancée de l’élaboration des politiques afin de garantir des conditions de concurrence équitables sur le marché du travail pour les travailleurs d’origine étrangère.

Part of the series

  • European Working Conditions Survey 2015

    ​Eurofound’s European Working Conditions Survey (EWCS) paints a wide-ranging picture of Europe at work across countries, occupations, sectors and age groups. This series consists of findings from the 2015 EWCS. The survey was first carried out in 1991.

Useful? Interesting? Tell us what you think. Hide comments

Ajouter un commentaire

Working conditions

How your birthplace affects your workplace

Policy brief
Published
27 November 2019
Formats
  • Download full reportPDF

Abstract

Employment statistics consistently show that having a foreign background has an influence on people’s employment prospects. Less is known about the types of jobs workers with foreign backgrounds hold and their working conditions. This policy brief contributes to filling this gap. It compares the experience of workers with a foreign background to that of native workers; it also distinguishes between the experiences of first-generation and second-generation migrants and between those of women and men.
The evidence shows that having a foreign background can have a negative impact both on labour market integration and working conditions. However, significant differences emerge between different groups of migrants. The findings highlight the clear need for a nuanced approach to policymaking to ensure a level playing field in the labour market for workers with a foreign background.

Part of the series

  • European Working Conditions Survey 2015

    ​Eurofound’s European Working Conditions Survey (EWCS) paints a wide-ranging picture of Europe at work across countries, occupations, sectors and age groups. This series consists of findings from the 2015 EWCS. The survey was first carried out in 1991.

Useful? Interesting? Tell us what you think. Hide comments

Add new comment