Services publics

11 July 2019

Les services publics tels que la santé, l’éducation, les soins sociaux et les transports sont essentiels pour atteindre des niveaux élevés de protection, de cohésion et d’inclusion sociales. Mais ce sont la qualité et l’accessibilité des services qui déterminent leur succès dans un paysage social et démographique en mutation.

Le défi pour les décideurs consiste à garantir la conception et la prestation de services sanitaires et sociaux qui répondent aux besoins variés des citoyens. Cette difficulté a été amplifiée par des contraintes financières importantes durant ces dernières années, et par une demande croissante, due au vieillissement démographique d’une part, et à l’afflux de réfugiés en Europe d’autre part. Outre le caractère abordable et la qualité, de nouvelles questions se posent. Elles incluent le risque que les nouvelles filières numériques utilisées pour la prestation des services n’isolent les communautés déjà défavorisées, mais aussi des difficultés potentielles s’agissant de garantir un niveau suffisant d’accessibilité et de qualité des services.

Le «paquet investissements sociaux» de la Commission, lancé en 2013, exhorte les États membres de l’UE à accorder une attention accrue à des services publics de qualité. De plus, la stratégie du marché unique numérique pour l’Europe, adoptée en 2015 par la Commission, place l’accent sur la modernisation des services publics en tant que moyen de stimuler la compétitivité. L’adoption de nouvelles technologies, les services publics en ligne et l’interopérabilité transfrontalière jouent un rôle essentiel dans l’amélioration de la rentabilité et de la qualité des services. En avril 2017, la Commission a lancé le socle européen des droits sociaux, qui inclut parmi ses principes fondamentaux l’accès à une éducation de qualité, à l’éducation et à l'accueil des jeunes enfants, aux soins de santé, aux logements sociaux et à d’autres services essentiels.

Le travail d’Eurofound

Eurofound examine les besoins des citoyens en général, en se concentrant sur les jeunes, les personnes âgées, les personnes souffrant de problèmes de santé physique ou mentale, et les personnes issues de l’immigration. Elle surveille et analyse les changements survenus dans les services publics en raison des contraintes budgétaires, des changements de politiques et des progrès de la technologie et de la numérisation. Grâce à des études de cas approfondies, les recherches consacrées par Eurofound aux services publics portent également sur les perspectives des prestataires de services et leurs réponses à l’évolution des besoins des utilisateurs.

Principales contributions

L’enquête européenne sur la qualité de vie (EQLS) d’Eurofound analyse les incidences de la crise sur la société européenne et la manière dont les Européens perçoivent la qualité de leur société et de leurs services publics. Des études approfondies sont consacrées à plusieurs thèmes clés, y compris les effets de la crise économique et des réformes de l’aide sociale sur les niveaux de vie et la qualité de la société.

Les recherches, effectuées à l’aide des données de l’EQLS, ont étudié les inégalités sociales dans quatre domaines essentiels de l’existence: la santé, le niveau de vie, les activités productives et valorisées, et la vie individuelle, familiale et sociale. Les analyses se sont également intéressées aux familles, observant l’évolution de la qualité de vie de différents types de familles avec enfants dans l’ensemble de l’UE, et comparant leur niveau de vie et leur situation sociale. 

Les coûts sociaux et économiques et les conséquences d’un logement inadéquat, ainsi que l’augmentation de la part des prestations privées de services hospitaliers en Europe, font également partie des domaines d’intérêt. Par ailleurs, les incidences de l’afflux croissant de citoyens mobiles sur les services publics des États membres de l’UE ont suscité des débats.

Les mesures visant à soutenir l’inclusion sociale des jeunes et l’expérience de la mise en œuvre de la garantie pour la jeunesse ont été des sujets importants pour Eurofound. De plus, l’accès aux services d’éducation et d’accueil des jeunes enfants et la qualité de ces services ont acquis une importance accrue dans le débat politique de l’UE, et ont également occupé une place centrale dans les recherches d’Eurofound.

En utilisant les données de la quatrième EQLS effectuée en 2016, les recherches d’Eurofound examineront dans quelle mesure les services publics répondent aux besoins des groupes sociaux, afin d’aider les décideurs à mettre à disposition des services sociaux suffisants et appropriés. Eurofound s’intéressera aux incidences de la numérisation au-delà des frontières sociétales et géographiques, examinant de quelle manière les nouvelles technologies peuvent faciliter la conception et la prestation des services sanitaires et sociaux.

Ongoing work

Other topics addressed will include:

  • Examining services for labour market integration of people with disabilities based on data from the 4th EQLS to support policymaking in designing relevant and efficient services
  • Mapping developments in advisory for household debt in EU countries as well as identifying barriers to access these services to combat poverty and assessing take-up
  • Analysing differences and inequalities in access to social services of general interest in the EU and assessing the nature and extent of convergence/divergence

 

Highlights (9)

Tout (189)

Publications (105)

Articles (51)

News (18)

Events (15)

Public services

13 December 2018

Public services such as health, education, social care and transport are essential for achieving high levels of social protection, social cohesion and social inclusion. But it is the quality of and access to services that determines their success across a changing social and demographic landscape.

The challenge for policymakers is to ensure the design and delivery of health and social services that meet the varied needs of citizens. That challenge has been compounded by severe financial constraints in recent years and by increasing demand, driven in part by demographic ageing and, in some part, by the influx of refugees to Europe. In addition to affordability and quality, newer issues are also emerging. These include the risk that new digital channels for service delivery may isolate already disadvantaged communities and the potential threat of increasing diversity of service providers on access to and quality of public services.

The Commission’s Social Investment Package, launched in 2013, urges Member States to put greater emphasis on high-quality public services. It highlights the importance of improving access to early childhood education and care, as well as quality healthcare as a key element in improving overall health and maintaining the productivity of the workforce. Furthermore, the Commission’s Digital Single Market strategy for Europe, adopted in 2015, puts an emphasis on modernising public services as a way to boost competitiveness. Embracing new technologies, online public services and cross-border interoperability are critical to increasing cost-efficiencies and quality of services.

Eurofound's work

Eurofound examines the needs of citizens generally, with a special focus on the young, the elderly, those with physical or mental health problems, and those with a migrant background. It monitors and analyses changes in public services brought about by budgetary constraints, changes in policies and advances in technology and digitalisation. Through in-depth case studies, Eurofound’s research into public services also examines the perspectives of service providers and their response to changing user needs.

Key contributions

Analysis from Eurofound’s European Quality of Life Survey (EQLS) examines the impact of the crisis on European society and how Europeans perceive the quality of their societies and of their public services. In-depth studies address a number of key themes, including the effect of the economic crisis and welfare reforms on living standards and quality of society.

In particular, using EQLS data, research has looked at social inequalities in four critical areas of life: health, standard of living, productive and valued activities, and individual, family and social life. Families have also been the focus of analysis, looking at the changing quality of life across the EU for different types of families with children and comparing their living standards and social situation. 

Other areas of interest have been the social and economic costs and consequences of poor housing, as well as the rise of private provision of hospital services across Europe. Furthermore, the impact of the rising inflow of mobile citizens on the public services of EU Member States has been the subject of debate.

Measures to support the social inclusion of young people and experience of the implementation of the Youth Guarantee have been important topics for Eurofound. In addition, access to early childhood education and care services and the quality of such services have been gaining greater prominence in the EU policy debate and have also been the focus of Eurofound research.

Using data from the fourth EQLS carried out in 2016, Eurofound’s research will examine how well public services are fulfilling the needs of social groups to assist policymakers in providing adequate and appropriate social services. Eurofound will address the impact of digitalisation across societal and geographical boundaries, examining how the design and delivery of health and social services can be supported by new technologies.

Ongoing work

  • Access to and quality of key public services in the EU
  • Life in European cities
  • Report based on EQLS module on healthcare, long-term care, childcare and education
  • Report with case studies of digitalisation in health and social services
  • Paper on measures to address inequalities in access to services among young people based on case study material and first analysis of service providers’ perspective.

 

Highlights (9)

All (169)

Publications (88)

Articles (51)

News (16)

Events (14)