Sozialer Dialog

09 Juli 2019

Sozialer Dialog kann als Verhandlungen, Beratungen, gemeinsame Maßnahmen, Diskussionen und Informationsaustausch unter Beteiligung von Arbeitgebern und Arbeitnehmern definiert werden. Ein gut funktionierender sozialer Dialog ist ein Schlüsselinstrument für die Gestaltung der Arbeitsbedingungen, wobei eine Vielzahl von Akteuren auf verschiedenen Ebenen beteiligt sind. Er sorgt für einen Ausgleich der Interessen von Arbeitnehmern und Arbeitgebern und trägt zu wirtschaftlicher Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und zum sozialen Zusammenhalt bei.

Die jüngsten politischen Debatten auf EU-Ebene haben gezeigt, dass insbesondere seit der Krise im Jahr 2008 in den neu geführten Diskussionen über soziale Gerechtigkeit, Demokratie, Qualität der Arbeit und neue Modelle für die Arbeitsbeziehungen die traditionellen Arbeitsbeziehungen und Systeme des sozialen Dialogs infrage gestellt werden.

Dreißig Jahre nach der historischen Eröffnung des europäischen sozialen Dialogs in Val Duchesse in Brüssel brachte die Kommission mit einer hochrangigen Veranstaltung, die am 5. März 2015 stattfand und an der Sozialpartnerorganisationen aus ganz Europa teilnahmen, den Prozess eines Neubeginns des sozialen Dialogs auf den Weg. Der europäische soziale Dialog ist ein Instrument der EU-Sozialpolitik, das direkt zur Gestaltung des EU-Arbeitsrechts und der EU-Arbeitspolitik beiträgt.

 

Tätigkeiten von Eurofound

Politische Entscheidungsträger benötigen solide Fakten, um die auf dem Arbeitsmarkt stattfindenden Veränderungen zu verstehen und auf die sich verändernde Dynamik bei den Arbeitsbedingungen in Europa reagieren zu können. Eurofound legt Daten und Analysen zugrunde, die sich auf sein Netzwerk von Korrespondenten in den 28 EU-Mitgliedstaaten und Norwegen stützen, um Trends und Muster zu erfassen und auf Beispiele eines gut funktionierenden sozialen Dialogs auf europäischer und nationaler Ebene hinzuweisen.

Im Rahmen seiner Forschungsarbeiten untersucht Eurofound Aspekte wie Arbeitnehmerbeteiligung, Tarifverhandlungen, Mitarbeitervertretung und Arbeitsbeziehungen auf allen Ebenen. Dabei wird der Umfang untersucht, in dem sich die Arbeitsbeziehungen an das Entstehen multinationaler Organisationen angepasst haben. Zudem werden aus globaler Sicht Systeme der Arbeitsbeziehungen und Ergebnisse in Volkswirtschaften außerhalb der EU, wie den USA und Japan, verglichen.

Wichtige Beiträge

Eurofound hat im Laufe von über 40 Jahren umfassende Arbeiten zu den zahlreichen und sich verändernden Facetten des sozialen Dialogs in Europa auf den verschiedenen Ebenen (auf Unternehmensebene, nationaler, europäischer und internationaler Ebene) erstellt.

In den vergangenen Jahren hat Eurofound eingehende Analysen der verschiedenen Themen im Mittelpunkt des sozialen Dialogs durchgeführt, wie etwa 

Die Repräsentativitätsstudien, die Eurofound im Anschluss an einen Auftrag der Kommission im Jahr 2006 in einer Reihe von Sektoren durchgeführt hat, liefern die grundlegenden Informationen, die für den Aufbau und die Tätigkeit der Ausschüsse für den sektoralen sozialen Dialog in Europa notwendig sind.

Ressourcen

Das 2005 als Online-Referenzinstrument für politische Entscheidungsträger und Praktiker entwickelte Europäische Wörterbuch der Arbeitsbeziehungen ist eine wertvolle Informationsquelle zu Beschäftigung und Arbeitsbeziehungen in der EU. Die Länderprofile zum Arbeitsleben bieten einschlägige Kontextinformationen zu den Strukturen, Einrichtungen und Regelungen des Arbeitslebens in den 28 EU-Mitgliedstaaten und Norwegen sowie auf EU-Ebene.

Die Datenbanken zu Tarifverhandlungen und Löhnen, Arbeitszeiten und Tarifstreitigkeiten sollen Wissenschaftlern und politischen Entscheidungsträgern quantitative und qualitative Informationen zu diesen Themen für alle Mitgliedstaaten und Norwegen vom Jahr 2000 bis zur Gegenwart bereitstellen.

Ongoing work

In the course of the programming period 2017–2020, research will draw on this body of work to identify capacity gaps and possible solutions to support capacity-building for effective social dialogue.

Other topics addressed will include:

  • Social dialogue in companies, particularly linkages that can be drawn between national and EU level, to better understand of cooperation mechanisms used in decision-making and implementation in multinational companies
  • Exploration of the role of national social partners in the European semester and analysis of quality and effectiveness of their involvement 
  • Summary of discussions on capacity-building social dialogue to support a meaningful and effective social dialogue 
  • A flagship report on industrial relations covering topics related to both social dialogue and working life developments, including updates on collectively agreed pay
  • Representativeness studies on a variety of sectors to provide the European Commission required information to assess the representativeness of European sectoral social partner organisations.

 

Highlights (14)

Alle (632)

Publications (188)

Articles (429)

News (8)

Events (7)

Social dialogue

26 January 2018

Social dialogue can be defined as negotiations, consultations, joint actions, discussions and information-sharing involving employers and workers. Well-functioning social dialogue is a key tool in shaping working conditions, involving a variety of actors at various levels. It balances the interests of workers and employers and contributes to both economic competitiveness and social cohesion.

Recent EU-level policy debates have highlighted that, particularly since the 2008 crisis, the emergence of new debates on social justice, democracy, the quality of work and new models for labour relations have been challenging traditional industrial relations and social dialogue systems.

Thirty years after the historic inauguration of European social dialogue at Val Duchesse in Brussels, the Commission relaunched the process of a new start for social dialogue at a high-level event bringing together social partner organisations from across Europe on 5 March 2015. European social dialogue is an instrument of EU social policy, contributing directly to shaping EU labour legislation and policies.

Eurofound's work

Policymakers need solid evidence to understand the changes taking place in the labour market and to respond to the changing dynamics of industrial relations in Europe. Eurofound uses data and analysis drawn from its network of correspondents in the 28 EU Member States and Norway to map trends and patterns and to point to examples of well-functioning social dialogue at both European and national level.

Eurofound research investigates aspects such as worker participation, collective bargaining, employee representation and industrial relations at all levels. It examines the extent to which industrial relations have adapted to the emergence of multinational organisations. And it also takes a global perspective, comparing industrial relations systems and outcomes in economies outside the EU, such as the US and Japan.

Key contributions

Eurofound has produced a large body of work extending over 40 years that has charted the many and changing facets of social dialogue in Europe at various levels: company, national, European and international.

In recent years, Eurofound has conducted in-depth analyses of various issues at the heart of social dialogue, such as: 

Eurofound’s representativeness studies carried out across multiple sectors, following a mandate from the Commission in 2006, provide the basic information needed for the setting up and functioning of the European sectoral social dialogue committees.

Resources

Developed in 2005 as an online reference tool for policymakers and practitioners, the European industrial relations dictionary is a valuable storehouse of information on employment and industrial relations in the EU. The working life country profiles provide relevant contextual information on the structures, institutions and regulations underpinning working life in the EU28 Member States and Norway and at EU level.

Databases on collective wage bargaining and wages, working time and collective disputes aim to provide researchers and policymakers with quantitative and qualitative information on these topics across all Member States and Norway from 2000 to the present.

Ongoing work

In the course of the programming period 2017–2020, research will draw on this body of work to identify capacity gaps and possible solutions to support capacity-building for effective social dialogue.

  • Regular reporting on working life developments through the European Observatory of Working Life (EurWORK) and EurWORK annual review
  • Upcoming representativeness studies by sector: Tanning and leather; Footwear; Steel sector; Metal sector; Central government administration; Commerce; Inland waterway transport; ICT Telecommunications; Horeca and contract catering; Banking; and Insurance
  • Report on the articulation of social dialogue at EU and national levels
  • Report on mapping the functioning of social dialogue at national level

 

Highlights (9)

All (601)

Publications (153)

Articles (435)

News (9)

Events (4)